top of page
  • Writer's pictureSam Hodgson

"Employment gives me a purpose" - Andy Burns

Updated: Jan 7, 2020



On Thursday evening I had the pleasure of sitting down with Youtuber Andy Burns (IndieAndy) to discuss the way that current job recruitment processes in the UK can affect people with autism.


Andy, who currently works in administration for a utility pole firm, believes that the current employer recruitment process does not do enough to cater for autistic people; he told me that more should be done to really allow individuals to sell their skills and abilities.


"In interviews, there needs to be more opportunities to practically show real working skills.


"From what I've experienced myself, when it comes to actually saying what I can do - I'm not the best at that. I prefer showing what I can do because I find that easier to get my skills across".


Andy has lived with the challenges of autism throughout his life and has become an advocate for Autism Awareness, building a steady following on his YouTube channel. The videos explore common social perspectives and themes of the spectrum condition in further detail.


Speaking on the way employment has impacted his life, he said: "Employment in general gives me a purpose.


"When I'm not working I feel like I don't have a purpose in society in a sense."


You can hear more from Andy in the snippet below, alternatively check out his YouTube Channel, IndieAndy, for some excellent content around the autistic spectrum.


For more information on the documentary, keep an eye on the Changing the Spectrum blog page.


More to follow.









46 views0 comments
bottom of page