top of page
  • Writer's pictureSam Hodgson

Final Thoughts

Updated: Jan 7, 2020




After an arduous curative process, the time has come for me to address my final thoughts. I’ve known from the beginning of this project just how important the subject matter is and I’ve found my own personal research and discovery to be incredibly enlightening.


For me, the most inspiring part of this whole project has been speaking to the community. The comments and response to Changing the Spectrum has been so very wholesome and I can’t thank the people involved enough for giving me their time. The eagerness, confidence and openness of my contributors has also confirmed to me one thing; the lack of media coverage of the autism employment gap has thus far been an injustice to those in this space.


This project has been monumental learning curve and has truly educated me on the boundaries of inclusivity and employment. My original questions were answered so effectively by the wisdom of the people of CareTrade and TRACK who let the strengths of the neuro-diverse community really shine through.


I found the conversation with Thomas Cliffe particularly fascinating. His perception of the small changes and training he encourages employers to undertake was a real insight into where the bridges between inclusivity and work need to be strengthened.


Steadily, more and more businesses are adopting a more open approach. Minor improvement has happened and will be built upon. SAP’s ‘Autism at Work’ programme being a poignant indicator of this and setting a leading example for employers the world over.


The fact is, more and more employers are slowly coming round to the concept of inclusivity and what it means – that has been a standout point in my findings throughout my research. There’s evidence that global business networks are taking the lead on this front like never before and it is now down to other major companies to start a chain reaction by following in their footsteps.


And whilst the All Party Parliamentary Group for Autism have made further recommendations to the government, the current political climate means that time can be the only indicator for how likely a legislative change will be.


In a world rapidly becoming more diverse and open-minded, the door remains wide open for employers to wholly embrace a culture of inclusivity and diversity.


17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page