top of page
  • Writer's pictureSam Hodgson

The Search for an Employer Policy Angle

Updated: Jan 7, 2020



I've been thinking a lot about the narrative of my documentary recently, in particular how I intend to structure the final piece.


So far I've secured some really interesting interviewees, however I am wary that many of these share similar perspectives - either being actually autistic or working to make a change for autistic adults.


I think to really break up the piece, I'll need to get in touch with someone who will offer the narrative something different, something unique.


The main focus of my documentary has always been around changing employer concerns around employing autistic adults - for that reason, I think it'll be really important to speak to a large employer on the current policy that they have in place in regard to literally hiring autistic adults.


Not only will this add a new perspective but it may shed some light on potential apprehensions that employers have around autistic adults in the workplace.


There are some obvious concerns for me around this: I really don't want to appear as if I'm trying to oust anybody, that is completely not my intention. My aim for this is simply to increase my knowledge as I genuinely don't know what/if any policies are in place or even exist.


My plan to secure this so far is to contact some of Bournemouth's biggest employers such as LV=, Beales and JP Morgan Chase reaching out for a statement on the hiring policies that they have set in place.


If I get a response I'll enquire about an interview to discuss this matter further.


More to follow.





11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page